The Bibliophile Bookshop Logo Bookmark Style

Hours: Tue-Sat (10a-6p)

Phone: 330-440-6443

Bibliophile Online Book Shop

The Little Wartime Library

SKU 9781538724217
$12.99
On Sale
$16.99 Save 24%
In stock: 4 available
1
Save this product for later
Share this product with your friends
The Little Wartime Library
Product Details
UPC: 9781538724217
Author: Kate Thompson
Genre: Historical Fiction
Format: Paperback
Condition: New
Publisher: Forever
Year: 2023

An uplifting and inspiring novel based on the true story of a librarian who created an underground shelter during World War II, perfect for readers of The Paris Library or The Last Bookshop in London.

London, 1944: Clara Button is no ordinary librarian. While war ravages the city above her, Clara has risked everything she holds dear to turn the Bethnal Green tube station into the country’s only underground library. Down here, a secret community thrives with thousands of bunk beds, a nursery, a café, and a theater—offering shelter, solace, and escape from the bombs that fall upon their city.

Along with her glamorous best friend and assistant Ruby Munroe, Clara ensures the library is the beating heart of life underground. But as the war drags on, the women's determination to remain strong in the face of adversity is tested to the limits when it may come at the price of keeping those closest to them alive.